Chelsea FC Take the English Premier League Title

9th May 2010

Chelsea FC has won its 4th Premiership title in emphatic style with an 8-0 drubbing of Wigan Athletic at Stamford Bridge. With title rivals Manchester Utd starting the final round just 1 point behind, the Blues knew they had to win against Wigan, who had defeated them in their earlier clash in the season.

After first half goals by Nicholas Anelka and Frank Lampard, any doubts about a Chelsea victory disappeared with goals soon after the break by Anelka again, and a classic to Salomon Kalou.  Didier Drogba ensured he won the EPL Golden Boot award with a hattrick taking his season's total to 29 goals, whilst Ashley Cole completed the rout with a stunning volley in the last moments.

To the cheers of the delighted home crowd, manager Carlo Ancellotti, and skipper John Terry, hoisted the Cup high into the air.

Ever the pragmatist, Ancellotti said he would enjoy the moment, but insisted his players would still be focussed on winning the upcoming FA Cup final versus Portsmouth.